I’m Into You, Personally.

An interpersonal relationship is an association between two or more people that may range from fleeting to enduring. This association may be based on inference, love, solidarity, regular business interactions, or some other type of social commitment. Source: Wikipedia

As I’m aging (oh, I’m so old) and becoming more aware of myself, I am also understanding the kinds of relationships that I have in my life. I don’t do well with holding on to the fleeting birds, but rather stoke the enduring fire with another hibernating bear. I’d rather cook a meal that feeds a hundred and keep it for leftovers to eat for the next hundred days with you than spend a rambunctious night with a potluck of people. Don’t get me wrong, (although I often am), I’m not advocating eating selfishly or against large groups of people, but if I had a choice, I’d rather be with one person at a time and explore our edges together.

I’d rather take us deeper and leap across the world in Hanumanasana than to interact in the regular business of masquerade stretching. Do you feel what I feel between my legs? Yes, that’s right, the solidarity of the inner thighs hugging in and the platonic love that spirals in, back and apart as it wraps the low back of our friendship. I’d rather be your block that supports your thigh as you stretch beyond your limitations than the block of news kids and writers. I’m committed socially to you in speaking the honest truth, but I don’t want to infer that this is true, because I don’t know what having an interpersonal relationship based on inference really means.

I dunno… I feel an empowering strength when relationships are in align, and that’s for all friendships, intimate partners, family and in myself. Don’t get me wrong again, I’m not pretending they all hold up like planks. But I do believe, that in order to love another, you must love oneself. I’m not saying love like the way you love your Lululemon pants, although they may hug you closely. Nor do I mean love like “I love you so much I’d jump off this bridge to prove to you this love in the afterlife.” Its the kind of love that I don’t even really know, or can describe or feel I’ve even fully experienced, but its tucked inside somewhere idle to unfold. So perhaps I’m talking out of my glutes, but I don’t think you need to get your pelvis flush to the ground to feel the splitting sensation of conjoined hearts to know what I’m talking about.

Two people, body, mind, heart in union is the left and right hand connecting at heart-centre. Its the magnetic pull of my left and right brain that practically instructs the creative hand to cooperate fully with the highest heart and the lowest mind. Its my left side body drawing in towards the right mind body so they may sprint swiftly as one in this relay of shin to ship

 

One response to “I’m Into You, Personally.

Leave a Reply

